Diagnostic Imaging & Radiation Medicine

Diagnostic Imaging & Radiation Medicine



The department was established in 1974/1975 and the first intake of postgraduate students was in 1977.  We had five (5) pioneer students who have done well in the field of imaging.  Since inception the postgraduate programme has successfully trained more than 100 specialist radiologists from eastern, central and southern Africa.

Besides the teaching programs we also offer clinical imaging services which include X-ray and ultrasound imaging.  The facilities in the teaching hospital include a state of art 1.5T MRI and a 16-slice CT Scanner.

There are continued research activities in basic applied sciences in medical imaging in the areas of physics of imaging, ultrasound, computerized tomography, conventional radiography, magnetic resonance imaging and RNI.

The department has had the following chairmen who have contributed immensely to its current status as the leading radiology training centre in the region.  They are:

Dr. Collins Lewis (1974-1978) - Dr. Lewis presided over the establishment of the department and the commencement of the M.Med (radiology) programme in 1977.

Prof. R.L. Whittaker (1979-1981)

Dr. Ramesh Raja (1982-1983)

Prof. Joseph M. Kitonyi  (1984-1990; 2001-2002)

Dr. Mundia Wachira (1990-1995)

Dr. Milcah N. Wambugu (1995-2001; 2002-2005)

Dr. Angeline A. Aywak (2006-to-2015)

Dr. Gladys N. Mwango (2016-to-date)

Thematic Units