MEPI PI Council Meeting

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Date and time: 
Wed, 02/11/2015 - 08:38
Location / Venue: 

KAVI Boardroom, College of Health Sciences

Principal investigators (PIs) from 12 African institutions funded under the Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI) program arrived in Nairobi on Sunday February 8, 2015 for the PI Council meeting hosted by the Principal of the College of Health Sciences, Prof Isaac O. Kibwage.
The meeting started on Monday, February 09, 2015 chaired by Prof. James Hakim from University of Zimbabwe.
The team included; Prof. Isaac O. Kibwage (Kenya), Prof. James Hakim (Zimbabwe), Dr. Elsie Kiguli-Malwadde (Uganda), Prof. Alfred Mteta (Tanzania), Prof. Midion Mapfumo Chidzonga (Zimbabwe),Prof. Marietjie Villiers (South Africa), Prof. Emilia Noor Mohammed (Mozambique), Prof. Steve Kamiza  (Malawi), Dr. Moses Simuyemba (Zambia), Prof. Peter Donkor (Ghana), Prof. Francis Omaswa (Uganda), Dr. Mosa Moshabeza  (South Africa), Dr Oathokwa Nkomazana (Botswana), Prof. Milliard Derbew (Ethiopia) and Prof. Peter Donkor (Ghana). In attendence was Dr. Onesmus Gachuno, Director Partnerships for Innovative Medical Education.

A session in progress

Members discussed the future of the MEPI PI Council after the expiry of the funding period in August 2015. After conducting a SWOT analysis, members coined a proposed post-MEPI name of the PI Council as “African Initiative for Health Professions Education and Research (AIHPER)”, developed the vision, mission and core values of the new outfit. Draft strategies were developed with associated activities discussed. The council also discussed organizational structure, membership, the governance structure, budget and financial sources. A subcommittee was formed to finalize the document and circulate a revised document within 7 days.

Click Here to view a picture gallery of the event.


Expiry Date: 
Thu, 02/15/2018 - 08:38

News and Events

Community Outreach

Media Center

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi